IFMA’s Timeline

Some of the milestones which IFMA has achieved throughout the years:

1993 – Inauguration of IFMA

1995 – First inclusion in the 18th South-East Asian Games (SEA Games)

1998 – Inclusion as a demonstration sport in the Asian Games

1998 – Recognition from the Olympic Council of Asia

2005 – Inclusion in the 23rd SEA Games as a fully recognised medal sport

2005 – Inclusion in the Asian Indoor Games

2006 – Recognition from the GAISF (SportAccord)

2008 – Inclusion in the TAFISA Games and as a full member of the TAFISA Sport for All Organisation

2009 – Inclusion in the Arafura Games

2010 – Participation at the 1st Edition of the SportAccord World Combat Games, Beijing, China

2013 – Inclusion in the International World Games Association (IWGA)

Major Events for 2013:

2013 – IFMA World Kids & Junior Muaythai Championships, Istanbul, Turkey

2013 – Asian Indoor & Martial Arts Games, Incheon, Korea

2013 – 2nd Edition of the SportAccord World Combat Games, Saint Petersburg, Russia

IFMA World Championships:

IFMA has held 15 World Championships, starting with the first in 1993, with only around twenty countries participating. At the most recent edition, in 2012, almost one hundred countries took part.

Over the years, World Championships have been held in countries like Thailand, Kazakhstan, Korea, Uzbekistan and Russia. The next edition of the IFMA World Championships will be held in 2014, in beautiful Malaysia.





Back to: What is IFMA?