17. Awarding of Points

17.1     Awarding of points: The points will be awarded whenever the athlete hits the opponent by punching, kicking, kneeing or elbowing with force, lands on target, no infringement without being blocked or guarded against.The target for muaythai means any part of the body except for the groin.

17.2    Ten points system:  10 points shall be awarded for each round.  No fraction of points may be given. At the end of each round, the better (more skillful in muaythai) athlete shall receive 10 points and his/her opponent proportionately less. When athletes are equal in merit, each shall receive 10 points.

17.3    Steps for awarding points:

17.3.1     An athlete wins the round when hitting more with muaythai skill than their opponent.

17.3.2    An athlete wins the round when using a more forceful muaythai skill than the opponent.

17.3.3     An athlete wins the round when showing less exhaustion or less bruising than the opponent.

17.3.4     An athlete wins the round when showing more aggression than their opponent.

17.3.5     An athlete wins the round when using a better muaythai style than their opponent.

17.3.6     An athlete wins the round when having less infringement of the rules than their opponent.

17.4   Non awarding of points:

17.4.1     Hitting with lack of muaythai skills.

17.4.2     Hits which are blocked by the opponent’s arms or legs.

17.4.3     Hitting with lack of force even when those hits have landed on target.

17.4.4     Throwing the opponent without hitting.

17.4.5     Hitting while infringing any of the rules.

17.5   Scoring system:

17.5.1  10 points will be awarded to the athlete who wins the round, and the opponent proportionately less (9-8-7 respectively).

17.5.2  10 points will be awarded to each athlete if they are even in the round.

17.5.3  The athlete who wins the round by a small margin will receive 10 points, the opponent will receive 9 points.

17.5.4  The athlete who wins the round by a big margin will receive 10 points; the opponent will receive 8 point or 7 points respectively.

17.5.5  The athlete will lose 1 point if he receives 1 warning. That warning point may be awarded to the opponent if the judges are in agreement.

17.6   Concerning Fouls:

17.6.1    Referee warning: If the referee warns one of the athletes, the judges may award a point to the other competitor. When a judge decides to award a point to an athlete for a foul committed by his/her opponent for which the latter has been warned by the referee, he shall place a “W” in the appropriate column against the point of the warned competitor to show that he/she has done so. If the judge decided not to award a point, he/she shall in the appropriate column, place the letter “x” against the points allotted for that round to the warned athlete indicating the reason he/she has done so.

17.6.2    Other: During each round a judge shall assess the seriousness of and shall impose an appropriate scoring penalty for any foul witnessed by him/her whether or not the referee has observed such foul. If a judge observes a foul apparently unnoticed by the referee, and imposes an appropriate penalty on the offending athlete, he/she shall indicate that he/she has done so by placing in the appropriate column the letter “J” against the points of the offending athlete, and indicating the reasons why he/she has done so.

17.7       End of Contest: If, at the end of a contest having marked each round in accordance with directives, a judge finds that the athletes are equal in points, the judge shall award the decision to the athlete:

17.7.1    Who has shown the most aggression or who has shown the better style of muaythai or if equal in that respect.

17.7.2    Who has shown the better defence (blocking, parrying, side-stepping, etc.) by which the opponent’s attacks have been made to miss.

17.7.3    A winner must be nominated in all tournaments. In Dual Matches, a draw decision may be awarded.